Accueil

La Société canadienne d’indexation / Indexing Society of Canada (SCI/ISC) est l’association nationale canadienne des indexeurs. Nous vous invitons à trouver un indexeur, à consulter nos publications et les ressources pour les indexeurs, en apprendre davantage au sujet des congrès et événements, et à devenir membre de la Société.

Trouvez un indexeur

Trouvez un indexeur spécialisé dans le domaine de votre projet.

Trouver des ressources

Trouvez de l’information sur les index, les pratiques d’indexation et les formations offertes en indexation.

Participez à un événement

Participez à une réunion entre indexeurs ou au congrès annuel.

Devenez membre

Joignez-vous à la Société et profitez des avantages d’une adhésion.

La Société désire que ses langues de travail soient le français et l’anglais. Vous noterez, par contre, qu’une partie du contenu de notre site Web n’est qu’en anglais seulement. Si vous voulez nous aider à accroître le contenu en français nous acceptons les bénévoles avec des connaissances dans l’indexation et le monde de l’édition; envoyez un courriel à notre présidente : presidents@indexers.ca


Save the Date for the ISC Virtual Conference May 27- 29, 2021

The ISC/SCI is thrilled to announce that our next annual conference is taking place from the comfort of your home from May 27 to 29, 2021. The theme is “Indexing Unlimited”.

The conference sessions will cover a variety of topics to help you improve your indexing practice and make your business thrive.

One new feature is designed especially for new indexers. The online Fireside Chat will give you the opportunity to talk in a group setting with an experienced indexer on your transition from student to practicing indexer.

Of course, networking has always been an important component of the annual conference. The Conference Committee wants you to know that this year will be no different. Plans are in the works for activities that will help you meet new friends and catch with up with old ones.

Conference registration opens soon. Visit the conference page for details.

La bourse pour la diversité dans l’édition au Canada

La Société canadienne d’indexation (SCI) est heureuse d’annoncer la création de la bourse pour la diversité dans l’édition au Canada.

Cette bourse fait partie d’un programme spécial de la SCI dont l’objectif est de combler un manque prouvé et de répondre à un besoin de diversité dans le monde de l’édition au Canada en aidant à promouvoir l’égalité dans les opportunités offertes aux futurs indexeurs qui appartiennent à des groupes sous-représentés et/ou marginalisés.

L’indexation est un domaine spécialisé, qui requiert des compétences de lecture détaillée, d’analyse et d’organisation. Le travail d’un indexeur ne consiste pas simplement à créer des index de fin de livres ; il comprend également l’indexation intégrée (numérique), l’entretien de métadonnées et de bases de données, le catalogage, la rédaction de glossaires, le développement de thésaurus et la gestion de projets, mais ceci ne représente cependant qu’une partie des tâches d’un indexeur ! Le monde de l’indexation offre des occasions illimitées d’apprentissage, de découverte et de développement professionnels appuyées par les offres de la Société canadienne d’indexation et d’autres sociétés du monde entier, qui accueillent des personnes venant d’horizons très divers sur le plan professionnel et de l’éducation.

La date limite pour le dépôt des candidatures à cette bourse est le 1er avril 2021. Cette bourse sera décernée à une seule personne et permettra de couvrir le coût d’un programme d’indexation approuvé, d’une adhésion de deux ans à la SCI avec inscription dans l’annuaire et la participation au programme de mentorat. Merci de vous reporter aux documents de candidature à la bourse pour plus de renseignements, ce qui inclut les critères admissibilité.

La SCI et le CIDE (Comité Inclusivité, Diversité et Équité) sont impatients de créer des liens au sein de/en dehors du monde de l’édition, tout en travaillant à promouvoir la diversification, l’éducation en matière de cultures et l’inclusion. Merci de partager cette information avec vos personnes-contact et de vous joindre à nous dans cette démarche passionnante et nécessaire – qui a été lancée bien avant nous par des personnes et des organisations bienveillantes et travailleuses dont l’objectif est de promouvoir la diversité et d’améliorer les connaissances et la compréhension de tous.

Pour en apprendre davantage

Formulaire de dépôt de candidature

Renseignements : tide@indexers.ca

New Monthly Chat Schedule

The members’ nation-wide monthly video chats have a new schedule. We will be meeting on EITHER the second Saturday of the month OR the second Wednesday of the month in the evening (ish).

Here’s the schedule for the next three months:
Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 6pm Eastern
Saturday, March 13, 2021, 1pm Eastern
Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 6 pm Eastern

We are changing up the timing of the chats in order to allow people with busy Saturdays to attend.

Watch the calendar for exact dates of future events. Learn more about the monthly chats.

Hope to see you there!

Débutez 2021 par une candidature au prix d’excellence en indexation Ewart-Daveluy

Faites de 2021 l’année du changement ; choisissez votre meilleur index et soumettez-le pour le prix Ewart-Daveluy.  L’année 2020 ne vous laissera pas que de mauvais souvenirs ! Date limite de dépôt de candidatures : lundi 22 février 2021.

Nous avons, en 2020, reçu un nombre record de candidatures de grande qualité ; nous en avons reçu tellement que nous avons choisi deux gagnants. N’hésitez donc pas à nous envoyer votre candidature. 

Nous vous encourageons à réfléchir à l’index qui vous a le plus inspiré, pas nécessairement l’index qui traite du contenu le plus compliqué, mais l’index d’un livre qui vous a posé un défi particulièrement difficile. Un index qui vous a obligé à analyser le contenu d’un livre en tenant compte de contraintes en matière d’espace,  ou dans une optique de simplicité extrême, car vous saviez que les recherches de contenu se feraient en situation de stress ou encore avec créativité, car la présentation de l’auteur était plutôt inhabituelle. Ou encore, un index qui vous a donné l’impression d’avoir vraiment fait un très bon travail.

Nous avons, l’année dernière, inauguré un système de candidatures en ligne. Le processus est extrêmement facile. Il n’est plus nécessaire de nous envoyer une copie imprimée : un PDF du livre contenant l’index suffit. Et cela ne vous coûtera que 30 $. Trois indexeurs expérimentés donneront une rétroaction sur les index aux trois finalistes.

Montrez-nous comment vous avez surmonté les défis avec créativité et créé un guide exceptionnel, bien structuré, convivial, clair et détaillé destiné à tous les utilisateurs. Vous pensez certainement : « Pas question, je n’ai pas suffisamment d’expérience ! » Je voudrais mettre l’accent sur le fait que Carla DeSantis, l’une des gagnantes du prix 2020, n’avait rédigé qu’un seul autre index auparavant. Elle espérait tout simplement recevoir la rétroaction d’indexeurs plus expérimentés. Anna Olivier, l’autre gagnante, indexeure depuis 2009, a soumis un texte en français. C’était également une première dans le cadre du prix Ewart-Daveluy.  

Donnez-nous un défi à relever. Vous n’avez rien à perdre et tout à gagner. Vous gagnerez peut-être le prix (ce qui ne sera pas possible si vous ne posez pas votre candidature). Et même si vous ne gagnez pas, vous recevrez très probablement la rétroaction confidentielle d’indexeurs expérimentés. Cela en vaut la peine.

Home

The Indexing Society of Canada / Société canadienne d’indexation (ISC/SCI) is Canada’s national association of indexers. We invite you to find an indexer for your project, read our publications, discover our conferences, events, and resources for indexers, find out about membership, and learn about the Society.

Find an indexer

Find an indexer who works in your subject area for your project.

Find resources

Find information about indexes, indexing practices, and training in indexing.

Attend an event

Attend a local meeting of indexers or attend the annual conference.

Become a member

Join the Society and enjoy the benefits of membership.


Save the Date for the ISC Virtual Conference May 27- 29, 2021

The ISC/SCI is thrilled to announce that our next annual conference is taking place from the comfort of your home from May 27 to 29, 2021. The theme is “Indexing Unlimited”.

The conference sessions will cover a variety of topics to help you improve your indexing practice and make your business thrive.

One new feature is designed especially for new indexers. The online Fireside Chat will give you the opportunity to talk in a group setting with an experienced indexer on your transition from student to practicing indexer.

Of course, networking has always been an important component of the annual conference. The Conference Committee wants you to know that this year will be no different. Plans are in the works for activities that will help you meet new friends and catch with up with old ones.

Conference registration opens soon. Visit the conference page for details.

Diversity in Canadian Publishing Bursary

The Indexing Society of Canada (ISC) is pleased to announce its Diversity in Canadian Publishing Bursary

This bursary is part of the ISC’s special program to contribute to filling a proven lack of diverse voices and the demand for them in the Canadian publishing industry to help achieve equality of opportunity for aspiring indexers belonging to underrepresented and/or marginalized groups.

Indexing is a specialized field, involving close reading, analysis, and organization. Beyond writing back-of-book indexes, indexers use their skills in areas as diverse as embedded (digital) indexing, metadata and database maintenance, cataloguing, glossary writing, thesaurus construction, and project management, to name only a few! Indexing provides endless opportunities for learning, professional exploration, and growth, aided by offerings of the Indexing Society of Canada and other societies worldwide, welcoming individuals from a wide range of educational and professional backgrounds.

In 2020 we awarded this bursary to Sandra Muchekeza and we are very excited to assist on her journey in the indexing world.

The application deadline for the 2021 bursary is April 1. It will be granted to one person and will cover fees for an approved indexing program, two years of ISC membership with listing, and entry into the Mentorship program. Please refer to the bursary application for more information, including eligibility requirements.

The ISC and the TIDE (The Inclusion, Diversity and Equity) committee look forward to fostering connections within and outside of the publishing industry while working toward diversification, cultural education, and inclusion. Please share this information with your contacts and join us on this exciting and necessary path—one forged by many thoughtful and hardworking people and organizations before us—toward embracing diversity and expanding our knowledge and understanding together.

Learn more about TIDE

Apply for the bursary :

Contact us: tide@indexers.ca

New Monthly Chat Schedule

The members’ nation-wide monthly video chats have a new schedule. We will be meeting on EITHER the second Saturday of the month OR the second Wednesday of the month in the evening (ish).

Here’s the schedule for the next three months:
Wednesday, February 10, 2021, 6pm Eastern
Saturday, March 13, 2021, 1pm Eastern
Wednesday, April 14, 2021, 6 pm Eastern

We are changing up the timing of the chats in order to allow people with busy Saturdays to attend.

Watch the calendar for exact dates of future events. Learn more about the monthly chats.

Hope to see you there!

Start 2021 with a Ewart-Daveluy Indexing Award Submission

Members, signal a change for 2021 by finding the best of your work of 2020 and submitting it for the Ewart-Daveluy Indexing Award. Give yourself something good to remember about this difficult year! Deadline is Monday, February 22, 2021.

In 2020, we had a record number of quality applications, so many, we had two winners. So, keep the applications coming.

Think back on the year to that index that carried you away — not necessarily the most complex material, but a book that presented a particular challenge to you as the indexer. One that inspired you to analyze with great efficiency of space, or extreme simplicity as you knew the material would be sought under stress, or creativity because of the author’s unusual presentation. Or one where you think you got it all right

Last year was the first year for the online application. It’s never been easier. You don’t need a hard copy — a PDF of the book with the index is enough. The submission costs $30 and we provide feedback for up to three runners-up. That’s feedback from three experienced indexers.

Show us how you creatively overcame challenges, resulting in an outstanding, well-structured, easy-to-navigate, clear and comprehensive guide for all of its users. And if you think, “No way — I’m too new at this!” Let us point out that one of the 2020 award-winners, Carla DeSantis, had only written one other index. She was hoping for the feedback. The other winner, Anna Olivier, indexing since 2009, submitted a French text. That was a first for the award.

Give us a challenge. You have nothing to lose and everything to gain. Maybe you’ll get the prize (which won’t happen if you don’t apply). And if not, you’re very likely to get expert confidential feedback. That’s worth a lot.